Landscape – Art Book Front Cover

Something I was pondering was to have a piece of landscape as my front cover for my art book. However, I would then be cutting out a lot of detail but it would give me a lot of space to fit text instead of putting over a more detailed portrait of a character.

I also believe I could almost create a balancing act between my type and imagery, as parts of my “Floating Castle” concept piece is either bottom heavy or top heavy. But overall that piece is balanced, so what I could do is take a top heavy part of the concept and place text on the bottom to balance out the piece and vice versa. But then I think that would make for a boring front cover that wouldn’t be enticing enough for some to pick it up and read it.

Looking at pieces from my concept I don’t think I would open the book if it had a cut of my landscape concept as it doesn’t show much and wouldn’t be a good indicator what would be inside. I will include some shots of my “Floating Castle” concept piece cut into an A3 portrait to give some indication of the result.

Floating Castle - Front Cover
Top heavy front cover design
Floating Castle - Front Cover 2
Bottom heavy front cover design
Floating Castle - Front Cover 3
Clustered yet balanced front cover design
Leave a Reply

