Concept Art – Logo Design

As of Recently, I have been updating Behance with all of my new work especially my concept art from this project (Year 2 FMP), I realised how old and out-dated my logo is. I don’t feel like my old logo represents me as an artist, especially as I’ve developed in both my style and the variety of mediums.

So I decided to create a logo in the style of my dry brush inspired concept art to properly represent myself on sites like Instagram and Behance.

Logo 2

Here is my old logo that was inspired by basketball and esports logos, it was designed around an eye of a dragon as a vector in Illustrator so that it was infinitely scalable.

Destruction

This is the piece of concept art (which have been starting to call “Destruction”) that I will be using as a backdrop for my lettering as I enjoy the colour and textures of the piece.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 14.25.04

A small piece, with textures that I enjoy, that I cut out using the “oval” tool in Photoshop to then be dropped into Illustrator.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 09.22.21

Logo backdrop then dropped into Illustrator, I then start experimenting with geometric and different forms of lettering. Taking inspiration from my name and my username: ZFlorezArt.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 09.24.40

I then reverted back to Photoshop as I didn’t enjoy the clean style of vectors in Illustrator. After that, I experimented with different brushes using my initials “ZH”.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 15.07.27

After finding the right brush I painted out my initials, but I don’t enjoy how cleanly cut the concept piece looks with the type. I feel like the concept piece should have some form of a backdrop.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 15.36.30

After not liking the previous result, I moved the type over to another copy of my concept piece and recut to include more. I enjoy this iteration a lot more due to how much it captures, as well as the contrast of colours between the type and concept piece.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 15.36.37

After some pondering, I realised how harsh the cut off is at the top and thought that maybe that’s too much and could be quite jarring. So using a soft brush I slowly erased the edges, however, it took away the colour and makes the concept piece look so unnatural.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 09.25.27

So after the harsh edges of the previous pieces, I decided to relocate my initials on the concept piece. So I took copies and placed my initials anywhere I could find depth and texture. I have to say that I enjoy the one on the right because it shows both light and dark for some lighting contrast, but also has some nice textures that can stand up to the rest.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 09.27.23

So I took my favourite three and cut them out using the oval tool in Photoshop and asked my peers which one they prefer. My favourite is the one on the right, however, everyone enjoyed the one on the left, due to how the lettering lined up with the concept piece. So with that thought, I’m going to go with the one on the left as my logo will be seen by other people and it’s about how they enjoy it instead of me.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 10.00.31

Here is the final piece, and then end of it I’m really happy with the outcome of this and everyone’s response to it.

 

Leave a Reply

