Tavern – Failed Concept Art Animation

So this piece I was sure was going to be my next concept art animation but I can’t capture the same ambience feel I captured with my others. The rigid structures highly contrast with the naturalistic movement of the arcing animation I had created. The frames weren’t equal distance apart in terms of development so the piece looks jarring and in all a counts horrible as it doesn’t hold the same style.

Tavern

Don’t get me wrong I enjoy the shape and form of the finished frame but the transition between the start and finish is not smooth and appealing. I think this is my best piece in terms of texture and colours but the composition is way off and there isn’t enough going on in the left side of the page. The final piece, unfortunately, is very right heavy and comes off unbalanced and uneven.

Looking back at the problems in this piece I’m unsure how I would prevent them in the future as I can’t think of a system that would ensure even development through frames to create a consistent animation. The best I could do is take screenshots or jpeg/ pdf exports/ “save as” of the piece and then mix and match frames to see what works. Even then I think that’s more trouble than these small pieces of experimentation are worth.

Leave a Reply

