Intentions of my Artwork – Forest

This post will go over the intentions behind my concept piece and animation called “Forest” to see whether I succeeded or failed.

Forest End Frame
End Frame
Forest
Gif

This piece is very similar to other pieces of mine like “Underwater”, “Inside the City Walls”, “Outside the City Walls” and “Tranquil” as it is animation as well as it being a standalone still image. I will tackle this being a still image first as that is what it is and an animation second. So what did I intend to do?

I intended to show the ambience, atmosphere and emotion of a densely packed forest within a single image. Did I succeed? No, I created a rushed mess to replace the”City Walls” so it didn’t have to appear in my book and I feel like that is a bad way to start the creation of an image, to mask another one.

No, I created a rushed mess to replace the”City Walls” so it didn’t have to appear in my book and I feel like that is a bad way to start the creation of an image, to mask another one. I also packed a quarter of the screen with just leaves to give perspective but it comes across as rushed just like the rest of the painting. it did help when I cropped down the composition to A3 balancing and evening each side so it wasn’t so unbalanced.

IMG_1571

When it came to the viewer’s eyes I painted it so you would start at the leaves on the left and move up the trunk on the right.

Forest - Analysis

This has completely failed to work as the piece is completely muddled due to poor composition, honestly, the only thing I can look back on with pride is how I’ve used an analogous colour pallet.

Looking at this piece just makes me think that it is by far my worst and that I shouldn’t tackle things for the sake of but instead do them because I truly want to. I should also work on naming my pieces batter because calling a piece of artwork “Forest” is not unique in anyway shape or form.

Leave a Reply

