Intentions of my Artwork – Tree City

This post will go over the intentions behind my concept piece called “Tree City” to see whether I succeeded or failed.

Tree City

This piece was created to show a more natural approach to city building whilst also creating a multi-tiered concept piece. I feel like I have succeeded in this, but I feel like I could have done better as the image feels flatterĀ than I was anticipating. The red building at the bottom has come out too light meaning some people missed it entirely which is a decently big part for people to gloss over. This problem I put down to the poor composition of my work.

The red building at the bottom has come out too light meaning some people missed it entirely which is a decently big part for people to gloss over. This problem I put down to the poor composition of my work.

In terms of how your eyes I meant to move, you were supposed to start at the top platform at the top left part and make your ways down to the mid platform and end near the red building.

Tree City - Analysis

Once again people glossed over the red building meaning that I have failed at what I was meant to do. I can’t be overly negative as I do enjoy the piece and it still has had a very positive reception at both in production and at the summer show. I do feel like the waterfall that this is an underrated piece due to the fact it was cut down to A3 for my art book.

IMG_1569

Leave a Reply

