Intentions of my Artwork – Waterfall

This post will go over the intentions behind my concept piece called “Waterfall” to see whether I succeeded or failed in what I set out to do.

Waterfall

This piece was created to work on how I paint water as I didn’t like the look of the water in my first dry brush inspired digital painting “Floating Castle”. So did I achieve this? Did I improve on how I paint water?

So did I achieve this? Did I improve on how I paint water? Overall yes, but I need to make the distinction first that the water in the two pieces (Waterfall and Floating Castle) are very different as they both show different gravitational effects. But I do think that this piece does show an improvement on my painting of water.

This piece was supposed to guide your eyes from the hill on the right to the cave on the left before descending down the waterfall.

Waterfall - Analysis

I don’t feel like I have achieved this. When I look at this piece my eyes go straight towards the waterfall and slowly veer off from there, so in terms of this I feel like this piece failed.

For me, this feels like an underrated piece as I enjoy the full thing but I couldn’t show it all of leading to an A3 cut of it.

IMG_1568

Leave a Reply

